Site Information

  • Image 1

Live At Rockpalast - Essen 1981 Cd/dvd - Black Uhuru

$25.98 $20.78
(You save $5.20)

Product Description

SLY & ROBBIE recruited the American rock guitarist Daryl Thompson († 2014) whom they knew from their time with PETER TOSH. They engaged the keyboardist Franklyn “Bubbler” Waul who was however not allowed to play the reggae typical shuffle organ but to steadily thrash the offbeat onto the piano. Those two musicians who were being replaced at several shows with Keith Sterling and Mikey Chung formed the core of BLACK UHURU which together with a second guitarist and a percussionist also dominated the stage in Essen. Sly’s varied drum patterns, Robbie’s bass drive, the straight offbeat and Thompson’s warped guitar licks were a combination that never had been heard like this in reggae before, a hypnotic wall of sound as basis for the revolutionary Rastafarian lyrics of Michael Rose, Puma Jones and Duckie Simpson, now and then interrupted by surprising echo effects. After their performance at ROCKPALAST, BLACK UHURU enjoyed worldwide success.

Track Listing

1. Shine Eye Girl

2. Plastic Smile

3. Puff She Puff

4. King Selassie

5. Youth Of Eglington

6. Push, Push

7. General Penitentiary

8. Happiness

9. Worl Is Africa

10. Sponji Reggae

11. Sinsemilla

12. Guess Who Is Coming To Dinner

13. Abortion

Other Details

Release Date:
Nov. 4, 2016
Media Format:

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category

Click the button below to add the Live At Rockpalast - Essen 1981 Cd/dvd - Black Uhuru to your wish list.