Black Man's Pride 3: None Shall Escape (2lp) - Various Artists (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
Release Date: Jan. 1, 2018
Media Format: LP VINYL
Genre: Reggae

 This is the latest new installment of Soul Jazz Records’ on-going collection of Rastafarian music at Studio One, featuring classic material from legendary roots and culture artists The Gladiators, Horace Andy, Freddie McGregor, Sugar Minott and the Wailing Souls, alongside a superb selection of rarities from Sir Coxsone’s musical empire made up of one-off and practically unknown Rastafarian artists who recorded on a myriad of Studio One off-shoot labels in the 1970s – The Manchesters, Mellodies, The Nightingales and others.

 In this new collection, we see that once again the prescient Clement Dodd was a man who saw the wider picture. In the 1960s it was Sir Coxsone who identified the creative potential of The Wailers, Toots and the Maytals, Heptones, Burning Spear and many, many others. In the 1970s Studio One released an untouchable selection of the finest as styles moved from reggae to deejay to dub and, in the latter half, the emergence of dancehall.

 But what is also clear is that throughout this era Studio One released an incredible amount of roots music, and not just the most commercially obvious. For alongside the career-building catalogues of Burning Spear, The Wailing Souls, The Gladiators and so on, one needs to be an ardent Studio One collector to know some of the truly raw Rastafarian music featured here. Groups such as The Manchesters or The Nightingales feel as if they were recorded straight out of the churchical chants of the mansions.

 Side 1

A1 –Horace Andy Conscious Dread Lock 
A2 –The Gladiators A Prayer To Thee  
A3 –Freddie McGregor Beat Down Babylon  
A4 –The Manchesters (2) Selassie Bandman

Side 2 
B1 –The Mellodies Dread Opression 
B2 –Big Joe Jah Jah Help Us 
B3 –Horace Andy Oh Lord Why Lord  
B4 –Lloyd Jones (2) & The Super Natural Six Get Up And Try 

Side 3
C1 –The Wailing Souls* Can`t Catch Me 
C2 –The Nightingales (5) Jehova 
C3 –Alphonso Stewart It's No Secret 
C4 –Errol Dunkley Satisfaction 
C5 –Mr Manchester* Give Natty Dread Glory 

Side 4
D1 –Lincoln (Sugar) Minott* Wrong Doers 
D2 –Noel Campbell (2) & The Gladiators Band Sufferation 
D3 –African Brothers (2) No Cup No Brock 
D4 –Zoot Simms When The Time Comes  
D5 –Glen Miller Whey No Dead