Grounation: Mystic Revelation (3LP + 7" Single Deluxe Edition Box Set) - Count Ossie, Cedric "Im" Brooks (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
UPC: 5026328004952
Release Date: Sep. 23, 2022
Media Format: LP VINYL
Genre: Reggae

Definitive 50th anniversary release of this seminal album!

"Like Sun Ra's Arkestra and John Coltrane are to jazz, the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari are to reggae – the ultimate expression of roots music and Rastafarian ideology in reggae music, music functioning at a high level of spiritual consciousness combined with an equally avant-garde and forward-looking approach to sound. 

The group's stunning, unique and groundbreaking 1973 album ‘Grounation’, a mighty conceptual triple-album (the first ever reggae triple!) is, similar to Marvin Gaye's 'What's Goin' On', a definitive all-encompassing cultural statement of its time and place. A sprawling album of raw and unique cultural expression that combined Rastafari consciousness with deep spiritual jazz music – an absolute and essential classic of Reggae music.  

The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari group came into existence at the start of 1970s, the union of two former Studio One artists (and groups) of equal repute – Count Ossie & his African Drums and saxophonist Cedric ‘Im’ Brooks’ & his group, The Mystics. Master drummer Count Ossie and his collective of Rastafarian drummers performed for Haile Selassie on his momentous visit to Jamaica in 1966. Cedric Brooks came out of the Alpha Boys School – the fertile breeding ground of musicians who dominated the Jamaican music scene from the 1960s onwards.

The Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari’s ’Grounation’ is a massive opus, a work of profound musical genius that tells the story of Jamaica through music and words. The album is a cornerstone in the history of reggae, a unique and other-worldly album the like of which has never been made since.  

Soul Jazz Records are releasing this long-revered album in a deluxe triple vinyl edition + 7" single + magazine, with extensive new sleevenotes, photography, exact reproductions of the original text and artwork, and a new interview with founding member Sam Williams (aka Time).

Track Listing
Side A
1. Bongo Man
2. Naration
Side B
1. Narration Continued
2. Mabrat (Passin Thru)
3. Poem
4. Four Hundred Years
Side C
1. Poem
2. Song
3. Lumba
4. Way Back Home
Side D
1. Ethiopian Serenade
2. Oh Carolina
3. So Long
Side E
1. Grounation
Side F
1. Grounation Cont'd

7" Vinyl Single
Side 1:
Blacker Black
Side 2:
Grounation (7-inch Edit)