Reggae Anthology Garnet Silk "music Is The Rod" - Garnet Silk

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: CD
SKU: VP1693.2
UPC: 054645169325
Release Date: Nov. 16, 2004
Label: VP
Media Format: CD

Reggae Anthology: Music Is the Rod commemorates the tenth anniversary of the death of influential dancehall singer Garnett Silk. Since his tragic death at the age of 28, various collections and "best ofs" have been rushed to stores but this two-disc tribute manages to showcase the singer's talent and spirit most thoroughly. It's important to note that Silk was heralded as the next Bob Marley and in the Jamaican music industry, that's no small feat. It wasn't just the obvious connections -- a poor youth, fervent Rastafarian faith, or raw charisma -- that led to the Marley comparison. Like Marley before him, Silk's spiritually uplifting songs triggered a conscious revival amid the violent and "slack" lyrics of the '90s dancehall reggae.

These two discs not only document the luminous, pure singing that Silk used on hits such as "Hello Africa," "Love Is the Answer," and "Fill Us Up With Your Mercy," but also the rapid-fire toasting from his early years as a DJ. "See Bimbo Ya" and "Lion Heart" glimpse the lyrical skill of a young Silk while also hinting at the vocal ability that would later emerge. Music Is the Rod serves as an authoritative account of Silk's musical legacy.

Track Listing
Disc 1
1. Splashing Dashing
2. Lord Watch Over Our Shoulders
3. Kingly Character
4. Every Knee Shall Bow (With Coco Tea, Charlie Chaplin)
5. Jah Jah Is The Ruler
6. Mama
7. Hello Africa
8. Like A Mother
9. Nothing Can Divide Us
10. Oh Me Oh My
11. Commitment
12. It's Growing
13. Mystic Chant
14. Bless Me
15. Love Is The Answer
16. Lion Heart
17. See Bimbo Ya
18. Keep Them Talking
19. I Am Vex
20. Blessed Be The Almighty
21. Everything I've Got
22) Place In Your Heart
Disc 2
1. Slave
2. Disadvantaged
3. Retreat Wicked Man
4. Fight Back (With Richie Stephens)
5. Complain
6. Christian Soldiers (With Tony Rebel)
7. Music Is The Rod
8. Fill Us Up With Your Mercy
9. Green Line
10. Harder
11. Man Is Just A Man
12. Zion In A Vision
13. Spread The Love
14. Singing For The People
15. Garnet Silk Interview (Feb. 1994)