Roots, Rockers & Dub (RSD Essentials Green Vinyl) - Augustus Pablo (2LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: NS078283.1
UPC: 822720782833
Release Date: Aug. 4, 2023
Media Format: LP VINYL

Visionary artist Augustus Pablo is among the most important figures in reggae history. Widely credited with popularizing the use of the melodica in reggae, Pablo was a talented musician and an innovative producer who became an early dub pioneer. Now regarded as classics, his memorable 1970s recordings were part of the remarkable creative surge that vaulted the Jamaican music scene to international prominence.

Much of this material was released by Rockers, an independent record label founded by Pablo and named after his popular Kingston sound system. Now, Nature Sounds is proud to present Roots, Rockers, & Dub, a new Augustus Pablo vinyl collection celebrating the 50th anniversary of Rockers. Featuring classic dubs along with rare and out-of-print tracks, the album captures Pablo’s immense contribution to roots reggae by highlighting a wealth of material spanning his entire career, all released on Rockers. Fully remastered and released in partnership with the Pablo family, Roots, Rockers, & Dub is a fitting tribute to an artist whose music still reverberates heavily more than two decades after his passing.

Track Listing
1. Brown Jim
2. Cassava Piece ('79 Style)
3. Mountain View Dub
4. Silent Satta
5. King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown
6. 1 Rutland Close
7. Pablo's Theme Song
8. Thunder Clap
9. Java
10. Pablo's Armageddon
11. Jah Dread
12. Memories Of The Ghetto Dub
13. Ethiopia Dub
14. Israel In Harmony
15. Blowing With The Wind
16. Park Lane
17. Mr. Bassie
18. Skanking Easy
19. Struggle In Soweto
20. Third Eye
21. Solomon Dub 2
2. 132 Version