Smash (RSD Essential Clear Vinyl) - The Offspring (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: EPILP868680.1
UPC: 045778686803
Release Date: Mar. 17, 2023
Media Format: LP VINYL
Genre: ROCK

RSD Essential 036 * Think Indie Exclusive *

The Offspring preserve the essential ingredients of their chosen genre--guitars grinding out three chords, shouted vocals, and plenty of vitriol--and layer them over a melodic base that packs considerable popular appeal. The singles from Smash, the Offspring's breakthrough album, still receive considerable radio airplay: "Gotta Get Away," "Come Out and Play," and "Self Esteem." With these and Smash's 11 other tracks, the band chronicles the adolescent experience with clarity and surprisingly incisive wit.

That pretty much describes all of their albums, but this is the one to get. It's got more shape than their earlier material and isn't as disturbingly poppy as their more recent recordings; it's the perfect blend of riffs and rage. Smash is the best-selling independent album of all time with over 20 million sold worldwide. Alongside Rancid’s And Out Come the Wolves and Green Day’s Dookie, Smash signaled the arrival of punk rock as a commercial force upon its initial release in 1994.

Track Listing
1. Nitro (Youth Energy)
2. Bad Habit
3. Gotta Get Away
4. Genocide
5. Something to Believe in
6. Come Out and Play (Keep 'Em Separated)
7. Self Esteem
8. It'll Be a Long Time
9. Killboy Powerhead - the Offspring, Didjits
10. What Happened to You?
11. So Alone
12. Not the One
13. Smash
14. Smash