Studio One Funk (Red Vinyl) - Various Artists (2LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
UPC: 5026328000979
Release Date: Mar. 17, 2023
Media Format: LP VINYL

Soul Jazz Records’ long out of print classic ‘Studio One Funk’ collection is being re-released in a new one-off limited-edition coloured pressing 18th anniversary format edition! A heavyweight special limited one-pressing only red 2xLP vinyl + download. 18 years on from its original release Studio One Funk remains one of our Studio One releases most in-demand titles and like all our earlier special coloured editions are sure to sell out fast!

Studio One Funk is made up of rare and unreleased Reggae Funk from the vaults of Studio One. Since the birth of Funk in America, the sound has been an ever-present ingredient in the melting pot of Studio One’s musical output. The music on this release is a combination of originals, US covers and versions of existing Studio One cuts, one of the finest selections of reggae and funk you will ever hear.

Track Listing
Side A
1. Cedric Im Brooks – Shaft
2. Alton Ellis – African Descendants
3. Pablove Black – Poco Tempo
4. Lloyd Williams – Reggae Feet
Side B
1. Jackie Mittoo – Hang ‘Em High
2. Cedric Im Brooks – Idleberg
3. Prince Francis – Beat Down Babylon
4. Lee Arab – Now
5. Soul Bros – 007
Side C
1. Prince Moonie – See A Man’s Face
2. Im and Sound Dimension – Love Jah
3. Leroy Sibbles – Do Your Thing
4. The Sharks – Music Answer
5. Underground Vegetables – Melting Pot
Side D
1. Devon Russell – You Found Heaven
2. Vin Gordon – Steady Beat
3. Alton Ellis – It’s A Shame
4. Roy Richards – Another Day
5. Delroy Wilson – Funky Broadway