Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

Studio One Lovers Rock (2lp) - Various Artists (LP)

$36.98 $33.28
(You save $3.70)

Product Description


Soul Jazz Records new Studio One album is a fantastic selection featuring all-star legendary Studio One vocalists – Alton Ellis, Marcia Griffiths, The Heptones, Horace Andy, Freddie McGregor, Sugar Minott – alongside a host of classic and super-rare Lovers Rock cuts all of which Clement Dodd recorded at the Brentford Road studio.


Lovers rock brought together many elements and here you will find sweet harmonies, late 1960s rocksteady, 1970s soul covers, discomixes, recuts and new rhythms – which all fit together in a timeless twilight of love & harmony – as if lovers silhouetted by a Kingston sunset.


Here you will find stone-cold classic Studio One tunes – Marcia Griffiths ‘Truly’, Horace Andy’s I’ll Be Gone super-rare cuts like Carlton and The Shoes killer 70s versions of Never Give Your Heart Away and Let Me Love You (vocal cut to Jackie Mittoo’s mighty Wall Street), The Invaders sweet lovers rocksteady bomb ‘Sweet Soul Rocking’ (currently for sale at £2,500 on discogs!) and many more!


This new album comes with sleevenotes by Lloyd Bradley, the acclaimed author of Bass Culture, Sounds Like London and Reggae: The Story of Jamaican Music. The album is pressed on heavyweight double gatefold vinyl (+ free download), deluxe slipcase CD and digital.


1. Tumbling Tears
2. I Hold the Handle
3. Never Give Your Heart Away
4. Yours Until Tomorrow
5. Oh Me Oh My
6. I'll Be Gone
7. Let Me Love You
8. Soulful Music
9. Ghetto Girl
10. Truly
11. My Woman's Love
12. Rock All night
13. I Don't Know
14. Didn't I
15. Wanna be Free
16. My Ting A Ling
17. Someone
18. I Was Born to Be Loved

Other Details

Release Date:
Jan. 1, 1900
Media Format:

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Find Similar Products by Category

Click the button below to add the Studio One Lovers Rock (2lp) - Various Artists (LP) to your wish list.