The Essential Phyllis Hyman (2LP) - Phyllis Hyman (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: USLP1201.1
UPC: 636551820110
Release Date: Aug. 5, 2022
Media Format: LP VINYL

Phyllis Hyman was one the greatest soul & R&B vocalists of the '70's, '80's & '90's. She was almost the epitome of the 'diva'. She fit the basic description like a glove. She had the sophistication, the attitude, the undeniable beauty, grace & wit & at a statuesque 6' 1", everything she needed to wear that crown. Naturally, her voice was of course an undeniably exceptional instrument.

The 18 tracks on this 2-LP set feature some of her most revered single & LP tracks & perfectly illustrate her remarkable talents. Her voice was a force to be reckoned with, projecting a quite astonishing range that was able to convey the inherent intensity of blues & jazz as well as soul & pop with equal ease. She was not a singer who could have been categorised by any of those musical genres. She combined the very best elements of such supremely talented vocalists as Aretha Franklin or Gladys Knight in the soul field alongside the jazz improvisational skills of an Ella Fitzgerald or the pop sensibilities of singers like Whitney Houston.

'Well, I don't sing happy, lovey-dovey stuff 'cos it's not my lifestyle. I mean, I know there are a lot of songs out there that say, "I'm in love & life is so great", but that's just one side of it & in all reality, I don't think there are many of us who can say that. More often than not, there's a downside. Love & relationships go wrong & that's something I know about. ' Tragically, on June 30th, 1995, Phyliss took an overdose and died, by her own hand. This collection is just a fraction of her recorded legacy, but what a legacy that is.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. You Know How to Love Me (Long Version)
2. Under Your Spell
3. Don't Tell Me, Tell Her
4. Hottest Love Around
5. Living Inside Your Love
6. Loving You - Losing You
7. Why Did You Turn Me on ?
8. Gonna Make Changes
Disc: 2
1. We Should Be Lovers
2. Let Somebody Love You
3. No One Can Love You More
4. Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
5. Tonight You & Me
6. Sleep on It
7. The Love Too Good to Last
8. Deliver the Love
9. Betcha By Golly Wow
10. I Don't Want to Lose You