Trojan: Original Rock Steady Classics - Various Artists (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: TBL1020.1
UPC: 4050538211320
Release Date: Sep. 23, 2016
Media Format: LP VINYL

The immediate successor to ska, the soulful sound of rock steady first developed during the long hot summer of 1966 and reigned supreme for two glorious years before finally being superseded by reggae. This collection features 12 of the most significant recordings of the rock steady era, including '007' and 'Train to Skaville', as well as the original 1967 version of 'The Tide Is High'.

Track Listing
Side A
1. Rock Steady - Alton Ellis and The Flames
2. 007 (Shanty Town) - Desmond Dekker & The Aces
3. Ba Ba Boom - The Jamaicans
4. Stop That Train - Keith & Tex
5. My Conversation - The Uniques
6. Train to Skaville - The Ethiopians
Side B
1. The Tide Is High - The Paragons
2. I Am the Upsetter - Lee 'Scratch' Perry
3. The Loser - Derrick Harriott
4. Perfidia - Phyllis Dillon
5. It's Hard to Confess - The Gaylads
6. Return of Django - The Upsetters