A Very Special Chrismas 2 - Various Artists

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: CD
SKU: AM0003.2
UPC: 731454000321
Release Date: Apr. 26, 2001
Media Format: CD
Genre: Christmas

The follow up to the original, this collection in many ways surpasses the initial effort. Duets seem to rule here, with Cyndi Lauper and Frank Sinatra double teaming on "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town," while the irrepressible Ronnie Spector shares the mic with Darlene Love for a resplendent "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree," and Heart's Ann and Nancy Wilson give "Blue Christmas" a steamy and sizzling once-over. Vanessa Williams stops the disc, though, with her simple yet stunning rendition of "What Child Is This." The then-sign-of-the-times inclusion, Michael Bolton, offers a forgettable "White Christmas," but it's the only real clunker in the bunch. Always just a tad too country to make it as a cross-over artist, Randy Travis still makes "Jingle Bell Rock" his own in his smooth way. --Steve Gdula

Track Listing
1. Christmas All Over Again
2. Jingle Bell Rock
3. The Christmas Song
4. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
5. The Birth of Christ
6. Please Come Home for Christmas
7. What Christmas Means to Me
8. O Christmas Tree
9. Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree
10. White Christmas
11. Christmas Is
12. Christmas Time Again
13. Merry Christmas, Baby
14. O Holy Night
15. Sleigh Ride
16. What Child Is This?
17. Blue Christmas
18. Silent Night
19. I Believe in You