I Man A The Stal-a-watt - Cornel Campbell (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: VP4221.1
UPC: 054645422116
Release Date: Apr. 5, 2019
Media Format: LP VINYL
Genre: Reggae

Cornell Campbell’s I Man A The Stall-A-Watt collects 13 tracks on one vinyl LP, highlighting the singer’s prominence in the golden era of reggae from the early 70s to early 80s. The title is a boast from the early soundclash era when many of Campbell’s tracks, here produced primarily by Bunny Lee, would play first on King Tubby’s Home Town Hi-Fi in Ja-maica. The songs run the range from clash-ready standards like “Mash You Down” and “The Gorgon” to cultural com-mentaries like “Jah Jah Me Horn Yah” and “Bandulu” to a lover’s masterpiece, “The Investigator,” which leads off the set. Stretching into the early 80s, the collection includes two originals that would spawn countless reinterpretations, “Rope In” and “Boxing Around.”

Track Listing

1. The Investigator
2. Jah Jah Me Horn Yah
3. The Gorgon
4. The Stal-A-Watt
5. Mash You Down
6. No Man’s Land
7. Rasta Come From Jail
1. Hypocrite
2. Two Face Rasta
3. Boxing Around
4. Two Timer
5. Bandulu
6. Rope In