Look How Me Sexy - Linval Thompson (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
UPC: 601811003312
Release Date: Oct. 12, 2018
Media Format: LP VINYL
Genre: Reggae

One of the first reggae singers of his era to move into self-production, Linval Thompson was known initially as a roots and culture artist, recording for various producers including Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee before initiating his own studio sessions in 1978. In 1979, he mentored Henry ‘Junjo’ Lawes as a producer, who in turn would become one of the most successful producers of the early 1980s, eclipsing Thompson in terms of output.

This 1982 LPs features nine Linval Thompson productions while the hit title track, produced by Lawes, features one of the top reggae riddims of its time, which is common to Don Carlos’s “I’m Not Crazy,” Frankie Paul’s “Worries In The Dance,” and Yellowman’s “I’m Getting Married.” While most of the album’s ten tracks fit the lovers rock style of the era, it also includes the brooding “I Spy.”

Track Listing

1. Are You Ready
2. You’re Young
3. Look How Me Sexy
4. Call Me
5. Sure Of The One You Love
1. Baby Mother
2. I Spy
3. Things Couldn’t Be The Same
4. Holding On To My Girlfriend
5. Lick Up The Chalice