Rocksteady Got Soul (2LP) - Various Artists (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
UPC: 5026328004648
Release Date: Apr. 30, 2021
Media Format: LP VINYL

Soul Jazz Records new Studio One release Rocksteady Got Soul is a collection of uplifting and superb rocksteady and soulful reggae from the late 1960s and early 1970s. Studio One is the number one label in the history of reggae and he album features - as ever with Studio One - an impeccable and unbeatable line-up of reggae superstars all soaring at the height of their creative powers. Alton Ellis, John Holt, The Heptones, Jackie Mittoo, The Ethiopians, Lee Perry and more.

The album is a mix of classic tunes and rhythms alongside super-rarities that were released in a dazzlingly complex web of Studio One labels and issues, deftly navigated with new sleeve notes from author and Studio One authority Rob Chapman. But enough with the chatter, just spin the platter - these tunes rule the town, hands down!

This Soul Jazz/Studio One album is released as deluxe gatefold double-vinyl + house inners + download code.

Track Listing

Side 1
1. It's True - Alton Ellis
2. You Turned Away - The Heptones
3. Mr. Sweet - The Gladiators
4. Work It Up - The Jail Breakers
5. Run Rudie Run - Lee Perry & The Gaylads

Side 2
1. Young Generation - The Heptones
2. Good Feeling - Jackie Mittoo
3. I Need Your Loving - C. Marshall
4. I'll Be Waiting - Alton Ellis

Side 3
1. The Tables Gonna Turn - The Clarendonians
2. When Your Gone - Ken Parker
3. Traveling Home - Sound Dimension
4. Get Up Now - Errol Dunkley

Side 4
1. My Heart Is Gone - John Holt
2. Monkey Man - Freedom Singers and Larry Marshall
3. Let The Light Shine - The Ethiopians
4. Money Maker - I'm and David
5. Lose and Gain - The Viceroys