The Last Roundup: Live From The Bijou Café - Gram Parsons & The Fallen Angels (2LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: AOBA917594.1
UPC: 061297917594
Release Date: Nov. 24, 2023
Media Format: LP VINYL

In early 1973 Gram Parsons embarked on a tour to promote his recently released first solo album, GP. Gram put together a pretty great band, including the then-unknown Emmylou Harris as his singing partner. The shows were somewhat uneven at first, but by midtour the band started to find its groove.

One show stood out to pedal steel player Neil Flanz: the third night at the Bijou Cafe in Philadelphia. Neil felt that this was the best show of the tour and requested a copy of the soundboard recording. He saved it for almost forty years, and then it was acquired by Amoeba Music for a future Gram release. It then disappeared in the Amoeba vault for another ten years before it was rediscovered when Amoeba moved to a new location in LA.

It turns out Neil was right. This is Gram and Emmylou at their finest. And it’s the next to last club date ever for Gram and the Fallen Angels. A 50-year-old soundboard cassette offers some unique challenges, but thanks to the efforts of some of the world’s best archival sound restoration engineers, the beauty and energy of Gram, Emmy and the band shine through.
For all of those who never got to experience Gram live, this is the closest we’ll ever get to being there.

Track Listing
Disc 1:
1. Introduction/ Flint Hill Special
2. We'll Sweep Out The Ashes
3. My Uncle
4. Drug Store Truck Drivin’ Man
5. Streets Of Baltimore
6. Baptizing Down By The Creek
7. California Cotton Fields
8. Love Hurts
9. Cry One More Time
Disc 2:
1. Sin City
2. Big Mouth Blues
3. Jambalaya
4. Six Days On The Road
5. Introductions
6. The New Soft Shoe
7. Rock & Roll Medley - Hang On Sloopy / Baby What You Want Me To Do / Boney Maroney / Forty Days / Almost Grown