Jamaican Memories Vol. 1 - Dwight Pinkney (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: AIR23992.1
UPC: 021823239927
Release Date: Dec. 7, 2020
Media Format: LP VINYL

Jamaican guitarist Dwight Pinkney is best known for his work with Zap Pow and the Roots Radics, but with Jamaican Memories by the Score he has found a new platform for his melodic playing and steady, deep tone. A mixture of light reggae and jazz, Memories features old playing mates Ansel Collins on organ, Dean Fraser on saxophone, David Madden on trumpet, and the seemingly everywhere-at-once Sly Dunbar on drums and percussion. Revisiting well-known Jamaican standards like Gregory Isaacs' "Tune In," Delroy Wilson's "Better Must Come," Dennis Brown's "Left With a Broken Heart," Eric Donaldson's "Cherry Oh Baby," and Alton Ellis' "Cry Tough".

Track Listing
Side A
1. Tune In
2. Better
3. Screwface
4. Memories By The Score
5. Evening Time
6. Left With A Broken Heart
Side B
1. Barbwire
2. Night Nurse
3. Cherry Oh Baby
4. Many Rivers
5. Promise Me (How Could I Live)