Keep Movin' On (2LP) - Sam Cooke (LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Media Format: LP VINYL
SKU: ABK86271.1
UPC: 018771862710
Release Date: Jan. 22, 2021
Label: ABKCO
Media Format: LP VINYL

For the first time on vinyl,  Keep Movin’ On, a 23-song collection that encompasses some of Sam Cooke’s best loved and most incisive songs and represents the artist both at the very pinnacle and, tragically, at the very end of his ground breaking career. The songs that comprise Keep Movin’ On were, for the most part, written and produced by Sam Cooke following his successful fight for complete creative and economic control over his recordings and repertoire. The notion of artistic self-determination was an unheard-of concept for virtually any recording artist, let alone a young rhythm and blues singer in the early 1960s.

The 2-album 180g vinyl set features an essay by notable Sam Cooke biographer Peter Guralnick, written expressly for the initial CD release in 2001. Guralnick defines Cooke’s recordings sound “as spontaneous, as elegant, as full of mirth, sadness, and surprise as when it first came out of his mouth, translating somehow across the ages in ways that have little to do with calculation or fashion and everything to do with spontaneity of feeling, with a kind of purity of soul.”

Side A
1. (Ain't That) Good News
2. Rome (Wasn't Built In A Day)
3. Meet Me At Mary's Place
4. Basin Street Blues
5. Cousin Of Mine
6. Tennessee Waltz

Side B
1. Falling In Love
2. When A Boy Falls In Love
3. Good Times
4. Shake
5. Yeah Man
6. It's Got The Whole World Shakin'

Side C
1. The Riddle Song
2. I'm Just A Country Boy
3. Try A Little Love
4. There'll Be No Second Time
5. Another Saturday Night
6. Sugar Dumpling

Side D
1. That's Where It's At
2. You're Nobody 'til Somebody Loves You
3. (Somebody) Ease My Troublin' Mind
4. A Change Is Gonna Come
5. Keep Movin' On